About the Hillsboro Inlet District

The Hillsboro Inlet District Board of Commissioners consists of eight (8) individuals appointed by the following local governments:  Broward County, Lighthouse Point, Pompano Beach, Deerfield Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, Sea Ranch Lakes, and Hillsboro Beach.  The names of the Commissioners and the appointing entity are as follows:

Appointing EntityRepresentative
Pompano BeachJohn H. Holland, Chair
Fort LauderdaleLaurence Gore, Vice-Chair
Sea Ranch LakesDenise Bryan, 2nd Vice-Chair
Broward CountyTyler Chappell, Commissioner
Lauderdale-by-the-SeaRandy Strauss, Commissioner
Hillsboro BeachDr. Mohamed “Mo” Tarifi, Commissioner
Deerfield BeachScott Loesel, Commissioner
Lighthouse PointHank Sarkis, Commissioner

The Hillsboro Inlet District provides for sand bypassing around the Hillsboro Inlet, maintenance of the Hillsboro Inlet, and provides important drainage after storm/flooding events for the communities to the west. 

Relevant Links:

The District’s Charter and Charter Amendments can be found below: